#BookReview: Unravel Me by @TaherehMafi

Published April 10, 2013 by Jenny

Unravel Me

“Nothing in this life will ever make sense to me but I can’t help but try to collect the change and hope it’s enough to pay for our mistakes.” –Tahereh Mafi, “Unravel Me”

I don’t even know where to begin. This book is poetry–a constant stream of consciousness. It’s what we think inside our heads, without having the opportunity to put our thoughts into words on paper. The entire book captivated me and I had a difficult time putting it down, even when I absolutely had to.

I discovered the first book, “Shatter Me,” over a year ago. I was hooked immediately. “Shatter Me” was different. Unique. It stuck out like a sore thumb, but in a wonderful way. I embraced Juliette, cheered for her, and wanted nothing more than for her to find acceptance and love.

“Unravel Me,” however, has made me speechless. Adam? Warner? Goodness there is so much revealed…this book is a constant tug of war with your emotions!

The main character, Juliette, is beyond phenomenal. Period. She is a character who is only just discovering who she is, what her abilities are, and how to live with who she is and the life she has been given/thrown into.

Unravel Me” is so clearly fictional, yet the emotions strewn across the pages are un-mistakenly real and raw. There’s hope, heartache, sadness, amazement–constant conflicting.

Juliette’s thoughts and words are like fingers. As I read, they reached into my chest and wrapped themselves around my heart…and at times around my throat. There were moments when I felt like I was gasping for air. My breath was taken away. My emotions were torn between Adam and Warner. Just like Juliette.

I cannot say enough about the written words. Tahereh Mafi has an incredible ability for writing. It is natural, embracing, addictive, honest–shattering, brilliant.

Tahereh Mafi, photo credit- Ransom Riggs via Facebook

Tahereh Mafi, photo credit Ransom Riggs via Facebook.

If you have yet to read the “Shatter Me” series, I suggest you add it your TBR pile. I promise you it will be a quick read–because you will not be able to put it down.

Side note: For those of you who know me, I have long been a proponent of a certain Tiger’s series. For quite some time I  denied myself that this series quickly lost its “pizzazz” after the first book, if not the second.

Well, I have unveiled a new-found love and addiction.  It is all words that is Tahereh Mafi.

Not only is Tahereh an unforgettable and unbelievably talented writer, she has a seriously funny sense of humor :). Every so often she creates videos and posts them–she’ll reveal news about her series and she is so entertaining! I highly suggest you follow her on Facebook and Twitter because sometimes, well, most times, what she has to say is “pee your pants worthy.” Just saying ;).

“Unravel Me” Synopsis via Goodreads:

tick

tick

tick

tick

tick
it’s almost
time for war.

Juliette has escaped to Omega Point. It is a place for people like her—people with gifts—and it is also the headquarters of the rebel resistance.

She’s finally free from The Reestablishment, free from their plan to use her as a weapon, and free to love Adam. But Juliette will never be free from her lethal touch.

Or from Warner, who wants Juliette more than she ever thought possible.

In this exhilarating sequel to Shatter Me, Juliette has to make life-changing decisions between what she wants and what she thinks is right. Decisions that might involve choosing between her heart—and Adam’s life.

2 comments on “#BookReview: Unravel Me by @TaherehMafi

  • Would LOVE to hear from YOU!!