My #Writing #Journey: An Aside about Being #Mom

Published April 15, 2013 by Jennifer Elizabeth

For nearly two years I have tossed around the idea to home-school my oldest son. Currently, he is in kindergarten at a private Catholic school. And he has 28 days left.

I have been counting down the days until summer vacation since day #1. In my experience, I’ve only ever come across moms who count down the days until school STARTS.

The first day of school was one of the worst days of my life. It wasn’t because it was a terrible day for him (that’s another story for another day ;).) It’s because it was the first day I had to leave my son, in a new environment, without me. I cried when I walked away from him, and I cried when I picked him up (but of course, I did the mom thing and hid my tears behind my sunglasses).

I hate being apart from my kids. I always find myself rushing home whenever I go out. Some may think I just need to get away more often and just get used to being away from them. But that’s not the case. It’s because I love my kids, and I am aware how life can change in a blink of the eye.

Life changed for may people today at the Boston Marathon. You don’t know when something is going to happen that will change your life forever.

And this is one of the reasons why I am choosing to home-school my son next year. Life is so short. We have little control over what happens to us–more specifically in regards to unexpected acts of violence caused by others. But allow me to clarify: I am not afraid of death, or of the unexpected. I am not living in fear. I just want to make the best of the time I have been given. And one day, when it all ends, I want the peace of knowing that my time was well spent and that I didn’t miss a thing.

I am a stay-at-home mom who is also able to work from home. I also have an education degree. I am very blessed. I have the option to teach my children at home. I have the option to embrace this precious time when they are little and just learning. And I am going to do just that. I am going to embrace this time and am thankful that I can.

Some may think I’m crazy. Others will think I’m overreacting. And some will agree. But when it call comes down to it, at the end we are only left with memories. And I want my family to remember me being there, and to remember that I wanted to be there.

So that’s my little aside about being a mom. I love to read thoughts if you’d like to share them with me :).

 

4 comments on “My #Writing #Journey: An Aside about Being #Mom

  • That’s awesome you’ve made the decision to homeschool. It’s true life is too short and there is no shame in just wanting to be there for your kids and be apart of their life to the fullest extent! I too am counting down those days for sure! 🙂 We havent commited to homeschooling just yet though. Thanks for stopping by. Wasn’t sure about your comment. It’s my first blog so kindve nervous about what to write, name titles, ect… “Living” means pretty much everything. Lol

  • Wow, beautiful, Jen. You are such an inspiring, beautiful mom, wife, friend, cousin, and writer. You are one of the most selfless people I know. Jen, you already are such an amazing teacher to both of your boys– I’m sure that you will be wonderful at homeschooling=) You guys are in my prayers! Give all your boys hugs from me<3

  • You’ve touched very eloquently on the main reason I homeschool. I LOVE homeschooling my girls, and I love the amount of time we can spend together, enjoying life and learning to love learning! Also, I think you’ll find that it increases creativity all around. 🙂
    Best of luck, Jen!!

  • Would LOVE to hear from YOU!!

