The Beauty and the Beast that is #Freelancing

Published February 9, 2013 by Jennifer Elizabeth

My dream is to get published. Like many writers, I want to see my name on the cover of a book. I want to sit at a table inside a bookstore and greet the beautiful faces of those who read my masterpiece.

However, right now I just need to pay the bills.

Right before I started working as a freelancer, I had embraced a new beginning as a blogger and aspiring author. I had ideas for my YA book floating all over the place. I had also started writing a children’s book series. I was excited and I was connecting with so many other aspiring writers and published authors.

And then, I became ‘working mom’. I discovered that freelancing was wonderful in that I could work whenever I wanted; however, I also discovered that I could pretty much work 24/7 because there was always something to do.

I started to work as a freelance editor last July. I was able to quit my part-time job that consistently called me off or only scheduled me for only one or two hours a week. Best of all, I was able to work from home,  save money on gas, and not leave my kids.

I continue to feel the worth I bring to the company. I enjoy seeing the success my work brings and the connections it builds. I know that my devotion is helping another succeed.

This is the beauty that is freelancing.

However, as a freelancer, you can pretty much be “on call” 24/7, depending on who you work for–and if you’re needed, you have to just suck it up and do it.

I often find myself getting lost in my work. Each day I am able to get my daily stuff done, but I also know I can always do more, work ahead, etc.

There is ALWAYS something you can be working on when you are a freelancer.

Since I started in July, I have had two days off–both due to illness. I work seven days a week. I answer emails related to my job all day long. But I don’t hate it.

And now, seven months in, I am desperately missing the goals I was pursuing back in July. I am doing everything I can to find the time to finish what I started and catch my dreams. I know they are only a short distance away…I just need to find the balance.

When you freelance, there is no end in sight.

This is the beast that is freelancing.

If you are a freelancer, what are the biggest obstacles that you face?

…as always, thank you for sharing your thoughts 🙂

4 comments on “The Beauty and the Beast that is #Freelancing

  • Hi Jen. Nice post. I think the biggest obstacle I face while freelancing is managing unexpectedness. Sometimes a client may not need your services anymore, you constantly have to be looking for new work and there isn’t that guaranteed paycheck like with a 9 to 5.

    • Regarding the unexpectedness–I am very lucky. My freelance job is pretty much guaranteed–there’s work every day. Some days I wish there wasn’t ;). But with most, there isn’t that guarantee. So I can easily see where you’re coming from–which is why we need to constantly keep our eyes open and work towards our own personal goals and growth—in hopes to reach our “big break” one day :). Oh to be able to work for yourself and not someone else :).

  • Hi Jennifer – Thanks for linking to my post. You have some other great resources in there I’ll be sure to check out!

    I have a few challenges in freelancing. I rarely have time to query amidst all my contracts, and a lot of my freelance work comes from my connections within the industry. I have not had as much time as I’d like to build new relationships and find new outlets. I can also relate to the challenge that you feel like you could always be doing something. I think this is the curse for all self-employed people. But when I think of the alternative (ie sitting in an office somewhere from 9 to 5 with two weeks vacation pay per year), I am content with my arrangement. 🙂

    It’s all a matter of trust. The work will get done; I’ve never missed a deadline. And more work will always be around the corner. It isn’t for everyone, that’s for sure!

    • Hi Meghan! Thank you so much for checking out my post and blog :). When I first started freelancing, I wasn’t familiar with the career at all. The job just sort of fell into my lap..I was very and am verrryyy lucky :). I
      t’s funny, my husband read this post and said I’ve been too down on myself and negative about not being able to find the balance—but that isn’t really my point in all this–being negative. My blogging about the freelancing is a way to kind of “sort” out my feelings and frustrations and also to continue writing–even if it is about the job 🙂

      I LOVE not having to working a 9-5, sit inside a little cubicle, or dive in the snow and ice ;). I’m just trying to figure out a way to balance my personal writing time with my work time.

      You are absolutely dead on about it all being a matter of trust–My client trusts that I will get the work done, and I am not the type to just blow that off—despite the frustrations, the positives surely out weigh the negatives :).

      ps. I will be checking out your blog now!! 🙂

  • Would LOVE to hear from YOU!!

