Day One Disasters of Summer Vacation

Published May 30, 2013 by Jennifer Elizabeth

Noah's Graduation from KindergartenWell, my first official school year as “the mom” is finally over…Kindergarten graduation is over, the uniforms are semi-put away and both of my boys are now home with me every day. Yesterday was day one, and I think I sprouted a few new white hairs within the past 24 hours. LOL 🙂

Day One of Insanity

My oldest decided to go exploring while I was working for EYES IN Magazine. He went into the kitchen, climbed onto the counter (which is directly above the kitchen sink) and he snatched the Gorilla Glue that was sitting nicely out of reach on the window sill. OR SO I THOUGHT IT WAS OUT OF REACH.

Five minutes later I heard, “MOM! My fingers are stuck together!”

Me (aloud): “WHAT?! What did you do?”

Me (inside my head): WHAT WERE YOU THINKING?! YOU HAVE GOT TO BE KIDDING ME!

My Son: “I wanted to glue something.”

Me (aloud): “Well I really hope it wasn’t your fingers!”

Me (inside my head): BOY, I’M GONNA GORILLA GLUE YOUR TUSH TO A CHAIR!

And so the next ten minutes were spent trying to research the best method to remove Gorilla Glue. And then another 10 minutes were spent trying to remove it.

Note to fellow moms: Be aware that when you help your child remove Gorilla Glue from his/her fingers, it will also get on yours!

Moving On…

Once I finished my work for the morning AND did my best to remove said Gorilla Glue, I showered–but not before I sat each of my sons in a chair of his own with a bowl of raisins, chocolate chips and oyster crackers and then turned on “Special Agent Oso.” (I knew I had to keep their hands and their brains entertained, or else I would be doomed, again.)

After the shower, we went outside. Minus a bit of back and forth brotherly arguing and dirt throwing, the rest of the day went well…Until my oldest went exploring again–and he decided to climb the counter in the bathroom and touch a lightbulb above the bathroom sink.

Me (aloud): “REALLY? WHY WOULD YOU DO THAT?!”

Me (inside my head): “WHAT IS WRONG WITH YOU?!”

My Son: “I don’t know but it really hurts!”

Luckily, there was no mark or blistering of the skin–just a little sting. I had to basically spell out the lesson of the day, however.

IF IT IS UP HIGH, THAT MEANS DO NOT TOUCH IT.

Hopefully this lesson has been learned!

So Moms, how’s the start to the summer going for you? 🙂 

3 comments on “Day One Disasters of Summer Vacation

  • I’m just impressed you were able to get any amount of writing done at all with two boys embarking upon summer vacation fun. Good job, mom! My boys will be out June 7th and 10th and I don’t foresee much writing happening when they are home. It’s like a creative switch gets turned the moment they come home from school (thank God for the notecards that capture fleeting images), and the writer hat is placed on my desk in exchange for the referee cap of motherhood.

    • LOL! Thanks Angel!! Best of luck to you in capturing a few creative moments along the way ;)…haha, replacing the writer hat with the referee cap..LOL, that is the story of my life! 🙂 But I love it :)….just not Gorilla Glue, LOL!

  • Would LOVE to hear from YOU!!

