#Bookreview Tiger’s Destiny: Wha?

Published February 5, 2013 by Jennifer Elizabeth

Tiger's Destiny by Colleen HouckI started reading Colleen Houck’s “Tiger’s Destiny” in October of last year. I finally finished it a few weeks ago. Two family members of mine also read the book and finished before me.

Both said the exact same thing when they ended the book. I won’t go into detail, because I am NOT one to give away endings ;).

However, the main question floating around is: Where can the story go from here?

Have you read this series? If so, what were you left thinking?

My eyeballs started to drag a bit throughout the vampire scenes…it honestly took A LOT for me to keep reading. I was left feeling OK at the end of the book…wasn’t super excited, wasn’t terribly disappointed. In general, I just “wasn’t” anything.

I recently read on Author Colleen Houck’s Website that she is embarking on a new book, and is still currently writing “Tiger’s Dreams”. Perhaps she has lost some steam for the story and is ready to move on. I for one, am ready to move on.

The series started out great–I was hopeful, excited, eager for more. Then, I became bored and found myself saying,

“Well, no surprise there.”

I want to love it and keep loving it. I’m just not here anymore :(. I love the characters…but feel there could have been more…there SHOULD have been more…specifically more depth.

We are in the 4th book. Has Kelsey grown as a character? Yes. I think she did…but in my opinion, she should have grown A LOT more. There were times I wanted to slap her for her arrogance and whiny mouth.

Did she really deserve either Ren or Kishan? Maybe…maybe not.

Thoughts?

10 comments on “#Bookreview Tiger’s Destiny: Wha?

  • Jen, great post! Totally agree (=D)– thought this last book dragged in places and was really surprised to find out that there is a last book coming out. Honestly, I would not be disappointed if the series stopped where it is at. Anyway, you are such a beautiful writer and I am seriously SO inspired by you!! Keep up the amazing work!

    • Thanks, Annie πŸ™‚ You are a HUGE inspiration to me as well πŸ™‚ You are going places, girl! πŸ˜‰ And I can’t wait to be first in line at your book singing one day πŸ˜‰ And I agree…the series could definitely end here. Really it should end here…and if it doesn’t, the next book could end feeling like “pulling teeth” –very painful and perhaps unnecessary!

  • Great post. I do agree with you though. The book did drag on, but as a YA reader, it was a great story and I really do want the next one as she didn’t completely end this and I was not happy with the ending.
    Love the blog by the way. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks so much! πŸ™‚ I too am a huge fan of Colleen Houck’s—but I just feel like something has been lacking with the past two books…I can’t really pinpoint what exactly—maybe too much description and not enough dialogue? I don’t know…but yes, when the final book comes out, I will be adding it to my Tiger collection as well πŸ™‚ I have my guesses as to the “Dreams” aspect of the story—there was certainly a lot of focus on Ren and Kelsey and the “baby”—And I’m pretty sure what happened with Kishan was easily recognized as it was foreshadowed early on in the tasks…but I want more about that. I’m not happy with that situation remaining “as is”.

    • Hi Tamara πŸ™‚ Unfortunately, there is yet to be a release date. Colleen Houck is working on another book at the moment, and deadlines are quickly approaching, so she had to put it on the back burner for a bit. However, she made it very clear in one of her most recent blog posts that she isn’t shelving it forever ;). There will be more :). Unfortunately, I can’t’ find the link to her post, but if you’re interested, you can check out her Website at http://www.tigerscursebook.com πŸ™‚

  • Would LOVE to hear from YOU!!

