Rachel Vincent’s Soul Screamers: My Soul to Take

Published August 26, 2012 by Jennifer Elizabeth

Rachel Vincent’s Soul Screamers: My Soul to Take

Reading En Vogue’s Rating

didn't like it it was ok liked it really liked it it was amazing (my current rating)
IMOP: Recommended Reading Level: 14 and older

WOW. This book was unbelievable. I first picked up this series at Barnes & Noble. I scanned the synopsis and decided it was a definite must for my TBR pile.  Next, I searched it via my library’s online website and placed it on hold. And when I got it and started reading it, I was completely hooked. This storyline was absolutely unexpected.

Now, I am decently unfamiliar with Irish Folklore–however, I have seen the movie “Darby O’ Gill and the Little People” a number of times, and one scene sticks out from the rest–the banshee! Holy mackerel did that scene imprint itself on my brain when I watched the movie as a little girl. (Now remember, I was like six or seven, and this was in the 80’s, so it was a big deal, and sccaarrryy!)

OK, first off, if you have no idea what I’m talking about and have never seen this movie, watch it. A very young Sean Connery is in it and he is gorgeous. AND he sings. Enough said. Go watch it. Now. 🙂

Moving on! My only background with banshees has to do with that movie. Therefore, I didn’t have that much to go on. With that said, the idea and the storyline of My Soul to Take  immediately drew me in, and once I understood how the Irish Folklore fit, I liked it even more.

Kaylee, the main character, is awesome. She has no idea what is going on (with herself), her family life isn’t the greatest, she hopes she isn’t going crazy, and she epitomizes the saying, “keep calm and carry on.” I liked her.

And then there is Nash, Mr. Dreamy. Here’s a guy who falls into the “untouchables” category for high school boys. He’s popular, he’s gorgeous, and he too as a secret.  To top it off, he knows what’s up with Kaylee and is about the only one willing to let her know…when they aren’t smooching ;).

Now I won’t go into any further details about the story, but I did indeed enjoy it, a lot. And, I highly recommend it to my fellow YA book lovers.

Synopsis: She doesn’t see dead people. She senses when someone near her is about to die. And when that happens, a force beyond her control compels her to scream bloody murder. Literally.

Kaylee just wants to enjoy having caught the attention of the hottest guy in school. But a normal date is hard to come by when Nash seems to know more about her need to scream than she does. And when classmates start dropping dead for no apparent reason, only Kaylee knows who’ll be next.

Here’s a pretty fab. video that is fan-made for the book!

Would LOVE to hear from YOU!!

