Reading Goals: #BoutofBooks 5.0

Published August 13, 2012 by Jennifer Elizabeth
Bout of Books Read-a-Thon
DAY 7: Sunday (19th)
What I’ve been reading: “My Soul to Take”
Pages read today:  1 books; 56 pages
Running total:  1 book; 256  pages

Challenge:

Hello read-a-thoners!! I so hope everyone had a fantastic time with Bout of Books 5.0!!! I did not meet my goals…and I honestly did not expect to do so.  I’m up to my eye balls in computer work for my new editing job 😉  BUT, I’m happy to be getting paid!!  HOWEVER, I was able to read all of “My Soul to Take” by Rachel Vincent and OH MY GOODNESS was it soooo incredibly good!! This storyline just sucked me right in and I cannot wait to post my review–AND I can’t wait to read “My Soul to Save”, along with fellow book reviewer and my banner creator, Shirley Deeds over at the Creative Deeds Blog.
I cannot remember the last time, if any, when I read a book the same time as a friend, so I am very excited to read this book the same time as Shirley! 🙂  I hope everyone who was able to participate had an excellent time reading and connecting with fellow book lovers!  I promise to post my review for “My Soul to Take” as soon as I can!  Cheers to the next  Bout of Books,  6.0!! 🙂
 
DAY 6: Saturday (18th)
What I’ve been reading: “My Soul to Take”
Pages read today:  o books; 0 pages
Running total:  0 books; 197  pages
Challenge: 
OK, so I have  NOT done very well with the Bout of Books 5.0 Read-a-thon this week–but, I knew this would  happen.  Right now my “free time” is filled with making web posts for my new job as part of the editorial team for an online magazine.  I’m getting paid to write, edit, and work from my couch. 🙂  So I really can’t complain!
Although my week consisted of very little reading, I have written a lot via my job, and have been exposed to various new artists, designers, technologies, and companies. AND, my hubby and I finally purchased a second car after sharing one for the past 7 years of our marriage!! YAY!!  So, no complaints here!  I will no longer be stuck at home with two little boys and NO CAR every single day! 🙂  So, all in all, it was a great week for this gal! 😉

I’d love to check out YOUR updates and challenge participation when I have some free time, so PLEASE feel free to leave me a link to your updates in my comments!!!  It may not be today or tomorrow, BUT I will stop by, promise!!  Happy Sunday everyone! 🙂 And Cheers to the next Read-a-Thon, whenever it may be ;).

Bout of Books Read-a-Thon

I tried to avoid the inevitable. I hid my face behind my computer screen, hoping I would forget about Bout of Books 5.0.  No, it wasn’t because I didn’t want to participate.  It was because I desperately wanted to participate!!

Right now I am shoulder deep in my new job, tension is building at my neck and shoulders. I have no time to read. Shoot, I don’t even have time to sleep. BUT, I had such an amazing time during the last read-a-thon and I am physically unable to ignore this one.  I have been stalking #boutofbooks on Twitter.  I have been creeping on Ink and Page and Musing of a Book Shop Girl‘s blogs–just dying to see what their goals are. So I said, “Screw it. I’m doing it.  And I’m gonna love it!” I may not participate in all the challenges, or even meet my goals, but I will have fun with friends and hopefully meet some new ones. 🙂 Cheers to Bout of Books 5.0!

My Reading Goals

(And please forgive me, they aren’t very high, but it’s all I can manage right now)

To complete Rachel Vincent’s “Soul Screamers,  Volume One.” (3 books in one; however, I’ve finished “My Soul to Loose”

And so, I need to read and complete  “My Soul to Take” AND “My Soul to Save”.

UPDATES

DAY 1: Monday (13th)
What I’ve been reading: “My Soul to Take”
Pages read today:  137 pages
Running total:  0 books; 0 pages 
Challenge: ...Sadly, I didn’t get to it because I wasn’t feeling well and once I got done working, I got my kids to bed and then went to bed myself…at 8:30p.m.!!! However, I am hoping that today (Tuesday) is a better day!! 🙂
DAY 2: Tuesday (14th)
What I’ve been reading: “My Soul to Take
Pages read today:  20 pages
Running total:  0 books; 157 pages
Challenge:…OK, reading didn’t go so well today!  But, I did get a lot done for my job! 🙂 So, sometimes you have to give and take–I worked a lot today, and now I can do a bit more reading and participate in a challenge tomorrow! 🙂

 

DAY 3: Wednesday (15th)
What I’ve been reading: “My Soul to Take
Pages read today:  o books; 30 pages
Running total:  0 books; 197  pages
Challenge: Book Word Search hosted by The Musings of ALMYBNENR
This was a great challenge, in my opinion!  Since the giveaway is for $15.00 in free books, the challenge shouldn’t be easy! 🙂  Below is a “screen shot” of my congratulations page 😉 .  A fun word challenge is a great way to start the day!
About the Read-a-Thon

“The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal.  It is a week-long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, August 13th and runs through Sunday, August 19th in whatever time zone you are in.  Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week.  There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional.  For all Bout of Books 5.0 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. -From the Bout of Books 5.0 team”

30 comments on “Reading Goals: #BoutofBooks 5.0

  • Dude, we are totally in the same boat right now, so we shall kick this read-a-thon’s butt (and stalk each other) TOGETHER, k? I’ve got 5 or 6 days in the bookshop (hellish at this time of year), plus we’ve sold the house so the packing/panicking begins… but I’m determined to try and read SOMETHING and turn my books into a refuge instead of a third source of panic. WE CAN DO THIS! 🙂

  • I am sooooo glad u r hear 🙂 doesn’t matter what your goal is, u r reading and doing ur best. Don’t be pressuring yourself, ESP if your new job giving you added pressure. I had to check up on u to see if u doing it because I remember you so well, along with Ellie and some others of the times on twitter etc with the last boutofbooks 🙂

  • Tut tut everyone got a reply but me 😦 lol. You know who I am, u visit my blog, left me a lovely MSG, we met at last boutofbooks books lol. Anyways, just wanted to say, you are doing fantastic! I loved the challenge today with the Wordsworth. Hope u r feeling better xxx

  • Hello again! Gawd I’ve been a rubbish stalker this week, haven’t I? More of a drive-by waver, really. I had so much fun with the wordsearch, it was a genius idea for a challenge! Also, I’m a bit tired and hungry and read “I got my kids to bed and then went to bed myself” as “I got my kids to bed and then wet myself.” Apologies, I think some strong coffee and a rejuvenating shower might be in order… 😉

    • Ellie, I’m right there with you!! I have been “all work and no play” this week–And I knew this would happen, but I wanted to make my best attempts to participate anyways! Stalking or no stalking, we do what we can, when we can 🙂 And when we get to play with the Bout of Books crew, it’s only an added bonus ;). Hope you are able to finish up today was some great results ;).

    • Hey Miki! Thanks so much for stopping by my blog! Welcome! 🙂 The Soul Screamers Series is so good! Hopefully I will be finished with my book within the next week or so and will be able to put up my review. I only review books that I absolutely love and enjoy, and this series most definitely falls into those categories! -Jen

    • Awe, thank you so much!!! I am absolutely honored that you have nominated me for the One Lovely Blog Award!! However, I have been nominated for this one before, so I will not re-post again, BUT, I will most definitely make a blog post acknowledging your nomination!! Again, thank you!! 🙂

  • Would LOVE to hear from YOU!!

