Awards!

Published July 6, 2012 by Jennifer Elizabeth

WOW.  Thursday, July 5th, was the one year celebration of my blog.  This past week could not have been better.  My network of writing friends grew in leaps and bounds.  I was challenged.  I was nominated for 4 different blog awards. My heart is glowing! (And my eyeballs are red–not from crying ;), but from spending so much time at the computer.  However, it has been time well spent!

First, special ‘thank you’s’ need to be given to my very supportive writing buddies, Maryellen Brady, Cathy Givans, Audrey D. Wilkerson, and Sarah Fox.  These ladies are a gift, a blessing.  They have motivated me to be a better writer, think more creatively, and to NEVER GIVE UP.  Thank you, friends.

Second, thank you Ella Medler and Karen Einsel for believing in me, not just my blog, and awarding me with your nominations!  I am so humbled and elated!  I never imagined I’d be where I am today with my blog and my writing, and I still have so very far to go.  Your recognition equals motivation!

Ella Medler nominated me for “The Lovely Blog” award.  Here are the rules:

1. Thank the nominator

2. Nominate others that are worthy of that award in your opinion (official rules recommend 15, but that number can be tweaked.)

3.  Tell us 7 things about yourself (and let us know where to read them, you can use your blog, but not everyone does).  Make sure the people you nominate know they have been nominated.

OK, to begin, here are 7 things about me that you may not know…

1.  I am short.  Like really sort. Like 4’10” short πŸ˜‰ …yes.  In school, all short jokes applied, unfortunately.

2. I am 50% Italian, and it comes from my Dad and his side of the family.

3. Before I had my boys, I was a super fast runner.  In 5th grade, I broke my elementary school’s record for the 50 yard dash.

4. My favorite food is soup and sandwiches…preferably Minestrone soup and Wegman’s sub sandwiches πŸ˜‰

5. I had c-sections with both of my little boys…TMI? I hope not πŸ˜‰ LOL!

6. The first series I ever read, and finished, was Harry Potter.

7. The very first musical that I was a part of was A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum. I was in 9th grade and was cast as a courtesan.  I love to sing.

Karen Einsel nominated me for 3 different awards: The Reader Appreciation Award, Most Inspiring Blogger Award,  and The Sisterhood of the World Blogger’s  Award

Rules for Reader Appreciate Award

1. Include the award logo somewhere in your blog.
2. Answer the 9 questions below
3. Nominate 10 to 12 blogs you enjoy. Or you pick the number.  Today I am awarding 7 bloggers with this award.

4. Pay the love forward: Provide your nominee’s link in your post and comment on their blog to let them know they’ve been included and invited to participate.

5. Pay the love back with gratitude and a link to the blogger(s) who nominated you.

Questions for me to answer for the Reader Appreciate Award :

What is your favorite color?

Purple!  Specifically, lavender…but generally most shades of purple, excluding Barney purple, LOL!

What’s your favorite animal?

Hmm…well, I only ever had a pet rabbit as a child…and I’m allergic to cats and most dogs.  So, I’d have to stay a stuffed animal is my favorite πŸ˜‰  But if I had to choose a specific animal, I think little white dogs are adorable, and elephants are fascinating.

 What’s your favorite non-alcoholic drink?

Insert COFFEE song HERE. πŸ™‚  …besides coffee, I really enjoy a nice, cold, root-beer float!

Facebook or Twitter?

Twitter.

What is your favorite pattern?

Harts and stars…some childish things never change πŸ˜‰

Favorite number?

24!!

Favorite day of the week?

Well, I am a stay-at-home mom, so really every day is a favorite of mine.  However, Wednesdays are enjoyable when I have an episode of Pretty Little Liars and Jane by Design awaiting my viewing pleasure!

Favorite flower?

Orchids

What is your passion?

Being a mom, being a wife, and being a writer.

Next, The Most Inspiring Blog Award:

Post 7 thing about myself that you do not know yet…well, I just did that above πŸ˜‰

Finally, The Sisterhood of the World Blogger’s Award

My award nominees for all 4 Awards include:
1. Maryellen Brady

2. Audrey D. Wilkerson from Ink and Page

3. Sarah Fox

4. Cathy Givans

5. Raewyn Hewitt

6. Beckie from Becca’s Book Bug
7. Ellie from Musing’s of a Bookshop Girl

Side Note: I have noticed that some blog writers do not accept awards because their intent is to blog, and not blog for awards but for their readers.  So, if any of my nominees fall into this category and would rather not participate, I understand πŸ˜‰  BUT, please know that you are a true inspiration to me.

Keep doing what you do!

18 comments on “Awards!

  • Thank you very much Jen – and congratulations on your first year of book blogging! I know I’m only a little blog, but it’s so nice when someone drops by and says “Actually, I really like what you write”… Makes me feel less like I’m just talking to myself some days! πŸ˜‰

    • Thank you, Ellie! And seriously, I really do like what you write! You make it fun and fresh–your sense of humor really makes for one fantastic blog πŸ™‚ …however, I can totally relate to the “just talking to myself” aspect some days, HA! But know that you’ve got some readers who love what you do ;).

  • Hi Jen, thanks for the nomination – you must be the nicest, most encouraging person in the blogisphere / twitterverse. No wonder you are being nominated left right and center. I hope your eyes recover soon (I’ve got that gritty screen-assaulted feeling myself right now).

    • Oh goodness! πŸ™‚ I doubt I am the nicest and most encouraging, but I won’t deny a joy in helping others and keeping things real! πŸ™‚ These were the first blog awards I’ve ever been nominated for and was excited to be able to pass them on to you and six others. You most definitely deserve them! …And as for my eyes, here’s hoping some new eye drops do the trick! πŸ˜‰

  • Thanks so much, Jen! So kind of you!!! πŸ™‚ I might not go through all the steps, but I’ll at least post seven things about myself on my blog. And I’ll try to make them interesting! πŸ˜‰

    • Sarah, you are so very welcome! I was more excited to pass the awards along to those I know are very deserving–and you are most definitely part of that group!!! I can’t wait to read your post of the 7 things ;).

    • It was my pleasure!! πŸ™‚ You have a wonderful blog, are a wonderful writer, and a great friend. πŸ™‚ I’m so happy I could share these awards with you! AND, now I know I have a fellow friend of musical theater/singing!! Hooray for us wannabe performers! LOL!!

  • Thank you Jen! This is so wonderful of you πŸ™‚ You are such a fantastic cheerleader and I feel completely blessed to have you in my life ❀

  • Would LOVE to hear from YOU!!

