The Birth of “The Friday Factoid”

Published June 21, 2012 by Jennifer Elizabeth

dreamcatcherI am birthing “The Friday Factoid” for my blog.  This is something that I need to do to help improve and continue my research for my YA novel.  And so, every Friday I will slip you a little ‘factoid’ about something that will eventually appear in my novel OR be of use to write my novel and perhaps help you write yours–be it a history lesson, folklore, or writing tips etc. 😉

Today’s Topic: Dream Catchers

This Friday my focus is on the dream catcher.  In WIP (work in progress), the dream catcher will play a significant role in leading my main character, Samara, to deciphering who she is and what her future holds.

History of the Dream Catcher:

According to Lakota tribe folklore, it is said that the dream catcher holds the destiny of the future.

Dream catchers were originally woven to form a hoop of willow,  where the twigs of the red willows were gathered fresh and then dried in a circle to form the catcher.  Natural feathers and pieces of everyday life (feathers, arrow heads, beads, etc.) were added, as well as a semi-precious gemstone (one gemstone to each web because there is only one creator in the web of life).  The thread of the stalk of the stinging nettle was used to form the web.

“The dream catcher is believed to have the power to catch all of a person’s dreams, trapping the bad ones, and letting only the good dreams pass through the dream catcher.”  -via Dream-Catchers.org

I was fascinated by dream catchers when I was a kid.  I actually had one hanging from my bed post when I was younger and am pretty sure my parents packed it in my “box of stuff” when I got married and moved out.  Finding it is on my “to do” list.  What about you?

Do you own a dream catcher?  What is your take on the lore of the dream catcher?

One comment on “The Birth of “The Friday Factoid”

  • Would LOVE to hear from YOU!!

