‘Hourglass’ by Myra McEntire: Electric and Addictive!

Published June 19, 2012 by Jennifer Elizabeth

Reading En Vogue’s Rating

didn't like it it was ok liked it really liked it it was amazing (my current rating)

Recommended Reading Level: Ages 12 and Up (as posted in product details via Amazon)

(mild language, mild kissing, excellent read for teens)

Synopsis:

One hour to rewrite the past . . .

For seventeen-year-old Emerson Cole, life is about seeing what isn’t there: swooning Southern Belles; soldiers long forgotten; a haunting jazz trio that vanishes in an instant. Plagued by phantoms since her parents’ death, she just wants the apparitions to stop so she can be normal. She’s tried everything, but the visions keep coming back. So when her well-meaning brother brings in a consultant from a secretive organization called the Hourglass, Emerson’s willing to try one last cure. But meeting Michael Weaver may not only change her future, it may change her past.

Who is this dark, mysterious, sympathetic guy, barely older than Emerson herself, who seems to believe every crazy word she says? Why does an electric charge seem to run through the room whenever he’s around? And why is he so insistent that he needs her help to prevent a death that never should have happened? -Goodreads

Review:

The last great read I experienced was John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars. It was beautiful, gut-wrenching, and real.  I thought it would be difficult to discover another book that I would so willingly embrace, and that would live up to my now heightened expectations.  I was wrong.  I discovered another.  Hourglass is phenomenal.  Although it is a completely different type of story, Hourglass lives up to the cliché phrase, “It took my breath away.”  It was electric and addictive! Yes.  It was that good.

Myra McEntire wrote a book about a topic that is fairly untouched within the young adult genre-time travel.  When I was a kid, one of my absolute favorite movies was (and still is) Back to the Future.  “Great Scott!” 🙂  The idea of traveling into the past and future fascinated me.  The idea of messing with the “space time continuum” baffled me.  And I often fantasized about changing/improving my own future in the event mistakes were made and needed ‘redone’.

McEntire developed this unique and fresh storyline that allowed me revisit my past, indulge in those childhood fascinations.  And to top it off, it was paired with one heck of a strong female lead, Emerson, and a mysterious hottie, Michael.  Yowza!  Emerson is one feisty girl, and I loved everything about her character.  She is believable, likeable, and exceptionally funny to boot.   (Not to mention short, just like me.  Although, I only wish I had her super ninja skills and boldness to use them!)   She has a past that can easily encourage pity from both readers and her supporting characters.  But, I never once pitied Emerson.  I felt for her, but I knew that her character was strong enough to push through anything thrown her way.  I would even go as far as saying that she is one of the strongest female characters I have read.

Michael is mysterious, dreamy, and stubborn.  He tries to keep Emerson at a distance, but their chemistry is undeniable.  I devoured each and every moment Emerson and Michael were given together.  And when these two come together, sparks are created, literally! 🙂

So, the questions remains, why should you care enough to pick  up this book and give it a go?   Well, for one, I’m telling you to! 😛  But in all seriousness, I guarantee that if you are a YA reader, you will find Hourglass refreshing, different (in an exceptionally good way), electric and addictive.  I want more and I am certain you will want more as well.

Book two, Timepiece, has moved to the top of my TBR book mountain.  And it should be moved to the top of yours too!

Favorite Quotes:

“Most of what I say is complete truth. My edit button is broken.”
Myra McEntire, Hourglass

“My heart stumbled a little, but the tenderness in his voice kept me from falling.”
Myra McEntire, Hourglass

“I love you – broken in pieces, whole, however. No matter what the future brings, no matter what was in the past.”
Myra McEntire, Hourglass

“Aren’t you just a knight in shining armor? … Wherever do you keep your horse? And who scoops up the crap it leaves behind?”
Myra McEntire, Hourglass

10 comments on “‘Hourglass’ by Myra McEntire: Electric and Addictive!

  • THIS is one of my absolute favorites! I loved Emerson and Michael. Timepiece is fantastic in a totally different way! I can’t wait to read the next book too. Great review!

    • Faith, this book is so good and so different from what is ‘out there’ right now!! Make sure you also request the sequel, Timepiece, because it’s out now!! And trust me, you will want it!!! 🙂

  • Amazing review hun, i have just replied on your Goodreads review x
    This is what i said—–
    “amazing review hun! I have just put mine up. I am 70& through Timepiece and it is amazing! I think i’m loving it more than Hourglass. I am so happy that the 3rd book is call Infinityglass and out next yr!! I do not think i will be able to wait hehe xx ”

    I love the addition of quotes…edit button is one of my favs,
    The Back to the future pic made me giggle- i never thought of that and i loved it as a kid, but i was so young i didn’t completely get it…as i got a bit older i was like….oh yeah i get it haha. Fantastic! xx

    • Awe, thanks so much, Beckie! I am dying to sink my eyeballs into Timepiece, but first have to finish reading Rapture, by Lauren Kate–It’s the final book in her Fallen Series. 🙂 LOVE the “Edit button” quote–pretty sure that every person can relate to that one in one way or another! LOL! Thank you so much for reading my review and commenting!! 🙂

  • Would LOVE to hear from YOU!!

