The Fault in Our Stars: A Beautiful Masterpiece of YA Fiction

Published June 1, 2012 by Jennifer Elizabeth

Reading ‘En Vogue’s’ Rating

didn't like it it was ok liked it really liked it it was amazing (my current rating)

Recommended Reading Level: 14 and older (As posted in product details via Amazon)

(Mild Language, mature subject matter)

Favorite Quotes:

“Oh I wouldn’t mind, Hazel Grace.  It would be a privilege to have my heart broken by you.” -Augustus, The Fault in Our Stars

“But I believe in true love, you know?  I  don’t believe that everybody gets to keep their eyes or not get sick or whatever, but everybody should have true love, and it should last at least as long as your life does.”  -Isaac, The Fault in Our Stars

Description: “Diagnosed with Stage IV thyroid cancer at 12, Hazel was prepared to die until, at 14, a medical miracle shrunk the tumours in her lungs… for now.

Two years post-miracle, sixteen-year-old Hazel is post-everything else, too; post-high school, post-friends and post-normalcy. And even though she could live for a long time (whatever that means), Hazel lives tethered to an oxygen tank, the tumours tenuously kept at bay with a constant chemical assault.

Enter Augustus Waters. A match made at cancer kid support group, Augustus is gorgeous, in remission, and shockingly to her, interested in Hazel. Being with Augustus is both an unexpected destination and a long-needed journey, pushing Hazel to re-examine how sickness and health, life and death, will define her and the legacy that everyone leaves behind.” –Goodreads

Review:

John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars is a beautiful masterpiece of young adult fiction.  I chortled a lot.  I whimpered a bit…but quickly brushed away my tears so my kids would not see.  I may have even leg-punched the air ‘Bridget Jones-style,’ but I will never admit to it. Green’s work is one that every young adult lover should read.  Seriously.

Without a doubt, I can say that I have not thoroughly enjoyed a book this much in quite a while. The way the book narrates is brilliant.  John Green just may write from a teenage girl’s perspective better than some of his fellow female young adult authors do.  I, myself, am a bit jealous of his ability.  The Fault in Our Stars packs a punch in the humor department, but can also make the reader cry in the same sentence.  I absolutely adore so many quotes throughout this book.  It is very difficult to only pick a few and mark them as my favorites.  Honestly, I could quote the entire book as my ‘favorite’ quote.

This book aches for conversion into a movie as flowers ache for sunlight and water.  The Fault in Our Stars is a movie, just waiting to be created, and I will joyfully attend said movie with a giant box of Kleenex in toe.  I have accepted that I will sob like a little baby like I did when I viewed “The Notebook”.

With that said, if you so choose to also read The Fault in Our Stars and find yourself unmoved in the end, then I suggest you seek immediate medical assistance as you must be suffering from a serious illness or are unsurprisingly inhuman, just saying.

11 comments on “The Fault in Our Stars: A Beautiful Masterpiece of YA Fiction

    • So glad you enjoyed the review! My sis-in-law read The Fault in Our Stars first, and loved it! I knew it was going to be a good one as soon as I started to read. I adore that book. The way John Green writes is fantastic and enjoyable. I would highly recommend this book whenever you have spare time to read it! 🙂

  • Great review! I have heard so many great things about this book, I am so glad I bought it. Now I just need to find the time to start it! I have big plans this summer to get all caught up with my reading!

    Great blog, I plan on stopping by more often as well! 🙂

      • I JUST posted reviews for January books! I feel QUITE accomplished! I also read about 3 more books…it never ends, right?? Have a great weekend! We started summer break yesterday, so I am ready to rock with the reading!

  • Ive been steering away from contemporaries. I am not totally sure why but it’s like I feel I can’t relate as much as with PNR, UF, fantasy or dystopian. But I think I’ll give this one a try. Thank you for the review.

  • Would LOVE to hear from YOU!!

