Megan Curd’s ‘Bridger’: A Mini-Review

Published May 30, 2012 by Jennifer Elizabeth

Reading ‘En Vogue’s Rating

didn't like it it was ok liked it (my current rating) really liked it it was amazing

Reading ‘En Vogue’s Suggested Reading Level: 13 and older (Mild kissing, mild violence)

Favorite Quote: “I liked this. I liked this a lot.  Memaw said a boy would woo me.  I had just been wooed in one evening’s conversation.  If my hunch was right, he seemed to be wooed by me as well.  He wasn’t even blind.  This would be good” -Ashlyn, Bridger, by Megan Curd

Description: Paranormal YA

“Ashlyn McVean doesn’t believe in fairy tales. That is, until Ashlyn is thrown into the crosshairs of grudges her grandmother created long ago. After finding out she is one of two people able to cross between faerie realms, Ashlyn is faced with trying to understand her abilities, along with navigating a new relationship with her boyfriend, Liam. As if being on a centuries old hit list and dealing with crazed pixies isn’t enough, her new abilities mean trouble for Liam. Knowing her new life puts everyone she loves in danger, Ashlyn must decide what’s most important in her life between friends, family, love, and ultimately, realms.” —Goodreads

Review:

When I first began reading Bridger, I was confused and irritated.  In the beginning, Ashlyn’s father drowns after he falls through ice and is cannot be pulled to safety quick enough.  My biggest issue was that his story pretty much ended there.  He dies.  Paramedics take him away.  There is no mention of a funeral.  HUH?

OK, with that said, I locked up my disgruntlement, threw away the key, and continued to read.  The storyline swept me away and I cheered on Ashlyn as she uncovered the truth regarding her special gifts and her Irish heritage history.

This was my first introduction to the world of changelings, minus the one seen in Star Wars.  I was completely unfamiliar with the ‘species’ of a changeling and discovered a few aspects of the story that I struggled to believe.  However, I forced myself to ‘suspend my disbelief’ and embrace it ‘as is’.  Then, I decided I enjoyed it and I embraced it.

Ashlyn, the main character,  is a strong character, but is also a normal girl I could easily relate to (in her human sense, that is).  She struggles with her desire to do what she wants to do versus what her Memaw (grandmother) and mother expect from her.  She struggles with her brother’s vulnerabilities.  She struggles with the fact that the boy she is falling in love with has taken a vow to protect her, and if she gets hurt, he gets hurt.  If she dies, he also dies.  This alone makes my stomach churn!  What a predicament!

Finally, I thought the descriptions in Bridger were well written and well-developed, especially those of Anku, Jamie, and Memaw. Also, I was fascinated by the concept of the story and look forward to reading the sequel.  Props to you, Megan Curd, for your insane imagination!  (And I totally mean that in a good way!)

2 comments on “Megan Curd’s ‘Bridger’: A Mini-Review

  • I hadn’t heard of this book before, but it sounds interesting and I may give it a try someday 🙂 I don’t know if I’ve read much about changelings either. Nice review!

    • Thanks for checking out my review, Kelsey!! =) Megan Curd did an awesome job developing the idea for this book—and what’s even better is that, 1. I downloaded it free on Amazon 🙂 and 2. There is a second book!! whoop! And it’s out so I don’t have to wait to read it, lol!

  • Would LOVE to hear from YOU!!

