A Mini-Review: Wings, by Aprilynne Pike

Published May 29, 2012 by Jennifer Elizabeth

Reading ‘En Vogue’s Rating

didn't like it it was ok liked it (my current rating) really liked it it was amazing

Recommended Reading Level 13 and older (As posted in product details via Amazon)

(Mild kissing, mild violence, brief innuendo to sexual reproduction)

Favorite Quote: “If your clothes are enough to drive would-be friends away, they’re not the kind of friends you want. Typical mother advice.  Sweet, honest, and completely useless.”

Description: “Laurel was mesmerized, staring at the pale things with wide eyes. They were terrifyingly beautiful–too beautiful for words.  Laurel turned to the mirror again, her eyes on the hovering petals that floated beside her head. They looked almost like wings.  In this extraordinary tale of magic and intrigue, romance and danger, everything you thought you knew about faeries will be changed forever.” —Goodreads

Review:

I read this story when I needed a lighthearted, easy read.  I got exactly that.  Wings was a story that forced me to sit back and evaluate why I liked it.  In all honesty, I browsed other reviews before writing my own.  I needed to read what others thought of the story because I was unsure how I felt.  I was seriously surprised to find that many readers did not like it.  Therefore, I decided to sleep on it, and have now decided that I did indeed like it.  Let me tell you why.

I loved many aspects of Wings. It was sweet, different, and it combined both fairy stories and King Arthur/Camelot stories. However, the main reason as to why I liked it is that I was able to relate to Laurel, the main character.  Laurel was unique.  She was home-schooled and then thrown into public school because her parents needed to both work.  Their finances were pinched.  Laurel was different.  She did not eat like a normal teenager.  In addition, she started to grow a plant out of her back.  This made her even more unique-weird even.  (Clearly, I was unable to relate to this aspect of Laurel’s life.)

Growing up, I often felt out-of-place and awkward. Specially, I was very self-conscious of my appearance.  I was born with a giant red birthmark on the lower part of my left leg.  I was also the shortest kid in my class.  At times, I would choose to wear clothing that would cover my birthmark as means to avoid receiving weird looks and questions like, “What is that on your leg?” or “Did you get burned?”

Laurel did the same thing.  She chose clothing to hide her secret.  She hid underneath loose-fitting sweaters so no one would notice the plant growing out of her back.  She covered up what made her unique.  While this was not the best book I have read, it was definitely one that I made me feel like a little girl again.  I was able to relate to Laurel and accept that maybe I wasn’t the only kid out there who felt shy and different growing up…and that just maybe it was OK to be different.

At the end of the story I wanted to dive right into the next book despite the ache in my heart for Laurel and the love triangle she had found herself embarking on between David (her best friend) and Tamani (the mysterious young man from her past).  I look forward to uncovering who this Tamani character is and how David reacts to Laurel’s future decisions.

Would LOVE to hear from YOU!!

