Hop On the Read-A-Thon!

Published May 13, 2012 by Jennifer Elizabeth

Bout of Books Read-a-Thon

FINAL BOUT OF BOOKS 4.0 UPDATE

Hello new friends!! I hope each of you reached your goals throughout the past week.  I had an absolutely marvelous time connecting with you all, and even sharing my pancakes with those of you who participated in the Twitter chat Sunday morning! 😉

If were unable to join in that chat, here are some for you now! 🙂                                                                              

My original goals were to read Insurgent, by Veronica Roth, Bridger by Megan Curd, and Fever by Lauren DeStefano.

Well, I was able to read the first two books, completing Bridger last night (Sunday).  And,  I completed a review of Insurgent which is found here.  I was only able to begin reading Fever. As you may know, I am a stay-at-home mommy of two little boys. My boys do not let me read during the day (unless my youngest is napping). So, I am quite pleased that I was able to finish two out of the three AND participate in a couple Twitter chats and mini-challenges.  Most importantly, I met quite a few amazing new friends. In my opinion, connecting with fellow book lovers was the best part.  I am looking forward to the next read-a-thon this summer!

Finally, I would like to thank all the ladies who worked together to make this entire past week possible. You all did one fantastic job! Cheers!

I desperately want to participate in the Day 6 mini-challenge, but am unsure if that is going to happen since it is now 9pm at night. However, I LOVED the idea and will do my very best to try to complete both today’s and tomorrow’s challenges!

UPDATES:

Monday, May 14:
# of pages read today: 76%
# of books read today: 1
Total Pages read: 76% of Bridger, by Megan Curd
Books I’ve finished: 0

Tuesday, May 15:
# of pages read today: 150 of Insurgent, Veronica Roth
# of books read today: 1
Total Pages read: 150
Books I’ve finished: 0

Wednesday, May 16: Today, reading did not happen! ( 😦 )
# of pages read today:
# of books read today:
Total Pages read:
Books I’ve finished:

Thursday May 17:
# of pages read today:109
# of books read today:1
Total Pages read:259
Books I’ve finished:0

Friday May 18: Today was a difficult day to read and I was unable to accomplish any reading. However, I did complete a written proposal,  and I am keeping my fingers crossed that it is well liked by the receiver! 🙂
# of pages read today:
# of books read today:
Total Pages read:
Books I’ve finished:

Saturday May 19: Today was an awesome day for reading!! Whoop whoop! My hubby, kiddos, and I went to pick up my sis-in-law from college and I was able to finish reading Insurgent, by Veronica Roth.  YAY!!!
# of pages read today:266
# of books read today:1
Total Pages read: (I really can’t give a number since one of my books is an eBook and I haven’t finished reading it yet ;))
Books I’ve finished: 1.75

Sunday May 20:
# of pages read today:
# of books read today:
Total Pages read:
Books I’ve finished:

Friday, May 18, 2012

Bout of Books 4.0 Mini-Challenge: Books & Shoes!

“Take any book you like and match up a character in the book OR the cover of the book to a shoe.”

Hosted by: The Reading Housewives of Indiana

[books%2520and%2520shoes%255B3%255D.jpg]

My Pick: Colleen Houck’s Tiger’s Curse Series 

 

I am an absolute fanatic for Colleen Houck’s Tiger’s Curse Series. I cannot get enough of it. It is one of the best series I have ever read.  If you haven’t read it and you love YA, you NEED to read it.  Period.

READ IT!  Ok, no more lecturing! But seriously, read it.

And so, I had to pick this pairing. Within the series, Kelsey is described wearing a dress that looks very similar to these shoes.  When I found this picture, all I could think was KELSEY’S SHOES!!

For those of you who are unfamiliar with the series, here is the book description.

“The last thing Kelsey Hayes thought she’d be doing this summer was trying to break a 300-year-old Indian curse. With a mysterious white tiger named Ren. Halfway around the world. But that’s exactly what happened. Face-to-face with dark forces, spell- binding magic, and mystical worlds where nothing is what it seems, Kelsey risks everything to piece together an ancient prophecy that could break the curse forever. Tiger’s Curse is the exciting first volume in an epic fantasy-romance that will leave you breathless and yearning for more.”

So, are you yearning for more? I know you are!! So click the text about and it will immediately take you to Amazon where you can purchase the book, ;).  Tiger’s Quest, book two in the series, is even better!!

Please let me know what you think of the pairing, especially if you’ve read the books!  🙂

Bout of Books Read-a-Thon

Bout of Books Day 3 Challenge:

Re-Title It, Hosted by Books Devoured

Choose any book cover and re-title it. You can go serious or humorous with the new title.

Below are my NEW titles for Lauren Kate’s Torment, LOL =)

“The Idiots Guide to Deodorant Use”
“Hair Ties and How to Use Them”
“Morbid Prom”
“Going Goth”

I am absolutely loving these little challenges! I am eager to do a little bit of creeping on the other participants’ blogs! I can’t wait to see what book covers were chosen and what they were re-titled as! Hope my new title selections provided you with a tad bit of amusement for   the day!  Please feel free to leave me a link to your Day 3 Challenge in my comment section below!! -Jen

Bout of Books Read-a-Thon

Thank you so much to Nyx Book Reviews for hosting the contest for Day 2 of the Bout-of-Books Readathon!

Please leave me a link to YOUR BLOG  in my comment section so I can read your book confessions!!

Bout of Books 4.0 Readathon: Book Confessions

Physical book or eBook?   BOTH! I will take my books any way I can get them!

Paperback or Hardcover?

Hardcover; I want to build my own library one day..with a room filled with rich mahogany and leather-bound books, lol 😉

Reality or Make-believe?  Make-believe all the way!

Adult or Young-Adult?  Young-Adult is my personal obsession!

Dog ears or Bookmarks?  Dog ears! My kids always pull bookmarks out of my books!

Breaking the spine or Barely open the book?  Barely open the book..I like to keep them looking new.

Tea or Coffee?  Coffee! Coffee! Coffee! (That’s my morning coffee song! In fact, I am making some right now!)

Reading in bed or On the couch? Couch!

Series or Standalone? Series!!

Original or TV Adaptation? Hmm..that’s a tricky one..depends. Most likely original unless the adaptation is absolutely incredible (Like The Vampire Diaries!)

Defy motion sickness or Audiobooks? Oooo…most likely defy motion sickness…i hope.

Author crushes or Who-was-that-guy-again? Author crushes

Interview or Guest post? Interview…I want details, baby!


Bout of Books Read-a-Thon
Monday, May 14th marks the start of the Bout of Books Read-A-Thon (which made its debut in August 2011), and is hosted by Amanda at On A Book Bender.
This will be my very first “read-a-thon”  and so I would like to thank Amanda for creating such an incredible idea, and would also like to thank Audrey via @InkandPage  and http://inkandpage.me/ for telling me about it so I could hop on board!
If you LOVE to read, which I’m sure you do since you are reading my blog, then YOU SHOULD HOP ON BOARD TOO!!
Why not?  This is the perfect setting to connect with other readers and bloggers.  There is not a required number of books you have to read (thank goodness for that).  Just try to read a little more than you normally would within the week.  And, there are special chances to win prizes/giveaways throughout the week. I look forward to hearing from YOU if you decide to hop on board!
For me, personally, it is the perfect way to continue my special Mother’s Day Week!  Oh yes, you read those words correctly. Mother’s Day week!  If you are a mom, you know you deserve a week of fun, let alone one day.  And so, I plan to celebrate being a mom throughout the entire week.
I will do this by making the most of my “spare time” and participate in something I absolutely love –READING YA FICTION.

Below is my list (and hopefully I can finish all of these by the end of the Read-A-Thon).

Bridger, by Megan Curd (started reading, need to finish)

Insurgent, by Veronica Roth (started reading, need to finish)

Fever, by Lauren DeStefano

Best of luck meeting your goals to all the participants!

If you would like to see who is participating , check out http://boutofbooks.blogspot.com/p/master-list.html for a list of links to all those participating OR follow the hashtag #boutofbooks on Twitter to see what participants are saying!

65 comments on “Hop On the Read-A-Thon!

  • I would love to do this, but I’m babysitting my nephew. I hope you get through all the books you want too and I will be checking back to see what you thought of Insurgent. Every blogger that I’ve seen has LOVED that book so I have some high expectations. I hope you love it as well!

    • Thanks so much for the encouragement, Cassie! I absolutely fell in love with Divergent, so I can’t even imagine not loving Insurgent as well! Enjoy your nephew time =) …that time is very important 😉 Look forward to your return visit!!

    • Thank you so much for the luck! …I may need it..I have two little boys (ages 2 and 5) who occupy all of my time 😉 but I wouldn’t have it any other way!! I’m sure I’ll find some time to sneak in “mommy reading time” haha! I will have to check out the books you’re reading for the read-a-thon!! Thank you for stopping by my blog!

    • You are so welcome! I borrowed my copy of Insurgent from the library, and for some odd reason, I was the first one to get it! Apparently, people in my town are not big YA readers because I am constantly getting the new books first. I won’t complain. I love being the first and knowing that the book is germ free 🙂 Happy reading!!!

  • Afternoon! Just dropping by to cheer you on (*waves tiny read-a-thon flag*) and say OMG THAT IS MY COFFEE SONG TOO! To be sung petulantly and tunelessly whilst trying to pry my eyes open long enough to find a spoon… 😉

    • Hooray for meeting a fellow book lover and “Coffee Song” singer!! Haha! Thank you so much for stopping by my blog and cheering me on, Ellie! I love the “waves tiny read-a-thon flag*—very motivational!! LOVE IT! So of course I had to creep onto your blog and just about peed my pants (well, not literally) when I saw that you are “living my dream”. Well, one of my dreams. I think it is absolutely incredible that you run a little secondhand book store, and in Derbyshire!! I am definitely following your blog =)

      • I definitely do the Coffee Song. It can be quite a cheery way to start the day if there’s no one between me and the kettle – but if someone’s messing about with cereal or feeding cats on that little patch of workspace, that Coffee Song can get DEMANDING. Occasionally punctuated by me banging a mug/spoon on the worktop/someone’s dressing-gowned back until they move…

        The bookshop is indeed AWESOME – it was one of my dreams too, and I still can’t quite believe the bizarre turn of events that actually threw me into it headfirst – though on occasions I’ve gone from obsessively WATCHING Bernard Black to actually BEING Bernard Black, which I didn’t see coming. I saw myself more as a ‘Cathleen Kelly’ but it turns out I’m not as benevolent as I thought when I hit customer overload… We turn three this year! 😀

      • Hoorrayyy! I am now following your blog =) I look forward to reading your posts! Congrats on 3 years this year! Perhaps one day I will venture to Derbyshire and check out your book shop =) ….i would absolutely love to travel sooner than later, but it’s hard to do with two little ones 😉 Oh, also following you on Twitter….I think I may live vicariously through you–bookshop, England…sounds like a fascinating life!! (I am one of those Americans who love the English actors/movies/writers, etc. =) …promise i won’t get too creepy though, lol!

  • I am so tempted to join the read a thon. Wish writing didn’t have me so busy at the moment. Perhaps next time! Good wishes headed your way!!!

    • It is so much fun! Wish you were able to join in! But I completely understanding the ‘busy at the moment’ issue…and, there is always a next time!! The best part is making all these new connections and friendships with fellow YA lovers and bloggers =) I feel like a giddy little girl, lol!

    • I’m doing fantastic, Audrey!! I am loving the read-a-thon! For me, the best part is meeting so many new book lovers! It has been difficult to get a lot of reading done…and I figured it would be. My two year old is very mommy attached and constantly wants me to watch Blue’s Clues with him…and nothing else. He will literally close my book for me! lol! How are you doing? How goes the 7 books in 7 days?

      • Good for you!!! 🙂 And sadly, that was no spoiler for me. I have seen the “Steve goes to college” episode probably 60+ times…my oldest son (who is 5) also loved Blue’s Clues. It has become a part of my existence. lol.

    • Beckie, thank you so much for visiting my blog! I’m so happy I was able to make you giggle! =) I was hoping I’d be able to make a few people laugh! We can all use a good laugh once and again 😉

    • I know, right? I want them too!! …..I’m pretty sure they are available via the link (if you click on the picture it should take you there)…it was a pic. from an auction, I guess. The Tiger’s Curse series is incredible. I hope you are able to read it and fall in love with it like I did! =) …and there are still two more books yet to be released!

      • I’m so reading it. Later I noticed I had it on my wishlist already, but you know, wishlists just keep growing and growing AND GROWING, and some poor books just “get lost” in there. But Tiger’s Curse will be on my next order from the book depository, for sure! Yeah!! 😀

      • Whoop Whoop! I get a little crazy-excited when I am able to encourage someone to read the Tiger’s Curse series 🙂 lol. I love it and I really hope you do too!!! When you do read it, let me know what you think of it!!!! 🙂

      • Thank you so much for following my blog, Jen!! 🙂 ps…just hopped over to your blog and noticed the Downton Abbey pic…I am also obsessed with that series..I love Sybil…she is most def. my fav. sister. 🙂 I also like Matthew and Mary too…Edith…not so much! lol!

      • Awe, yay! Thank you! I am not very in tune with Goodreads…I am slowly figuring it all out…I have a hard time ballancing blog posts, twitter posts, working on my novel, figuring out Goodreads, and doing it all when my kids will let me, lol…however, I am so going to make an attempt to improve my knowledge of Goodreads, lol 🙂

      • Downton Abbey… I love it so much! ❤
        Sybil is my favorite sister too; I like Mary but she got on my nerves in a way in the first season that I can't love her with all my heart now, even if she's almost a different person in the second season, but I do like to see her with Matty. :3 Around here a magazine is going to sell the first season on dvd for a great price, thus the post, I was just so excited when I found out! 😀

        I understand, between the blog and all the social networks sometimes things get overwhelming, but Goodreads is a really cool tool, I love it! Oh, you're writing a novel, awesome!! 😀

    • I had a great week, thanks! Hope you did too! …I didn’t get to read as much as I had wanted to, but when you add kids to the mix things don’t always go as planned! =) However, I loved the challenges I was able to participate in and meeting some new friends!

    • Funny, I was wondering if you had met my boys at some point…because we regularly call them monkeys, lol!! Thank you so much for visiting my blog! I will definitely check out your post as well! Hope you are able to participate in the next one too! I will totally be on top of that one!! …I hope 😉 ..and you are so very welcome for the pancakes 😉

      • I am indeed planning on taking part in the next one! Really can’t wait. I want to aim higher this time round 🙂

        Well lets be honest, most young children tend to have the follow features of monkeys – clingy to everything or everyone, jumping about, loud noises and messy eaters :’) if anyone denies their child is never like that I really wouldn’t believe them.

  • Would LOVE to hear from YOU!!

