Give it a ‘smooch’ for 99 cents!

Published April 18, 2012 by Jennifer Elizabeth

READ IT! (In my opinion, for ages 13 and older)

“Three curses. Two brothers. One love triangle. Sometimes love is meant to be. But sometimes…love is the death of you.”

I began reading Anew (The Archer’s of Avalon #1) directly after finishing Angelfall, by Susan Ee. And so, Anew had A LOT to live up to since I had fairly high expectations.

This  was my second 99 cent Amazon eBook, and again, I was NOT disappointed. That being said, I’d highly recommend this book to YA readers.

In my opinion, Avalon, Georgia  would be jam-packed with teens (and adults alike) if this festival actually occurred. Breath mints would be out of stock. Chap stick would be a HOT commodity.

While reading, a couple of questions arose  for those who have also read this book.

  • What did you think of Scarlet’s character development throughout the story?

For me, I felt as though I knew Heather (Scarlet’s BFF) a little bit better due to her strong personality, fashion quips directed at Scarlet, and her inquisitive and protective nature.  I would like to have seen a bit more development in Scarlet’s character, (specifically her personality) other than having zero fashion sense and disliking the “kissing a stranger” rituals.

  • Do you feel the whole love triangle storyline is overdone right now?

Obviously we’ve seen quite a few triangles with both Colleen Houck’s Tiger Series and The Vampire Diaries by L.J. Smith.  But, would this idea have worked had there not been a “love triangle”? Personally, I love to devour books with attractive male characters–even if they are brothers fighting over one lucky girl!

Please feel free to post your comments below regarding these questions. I’d love your input!

Finally, I felt this book was a great read overall and am quite anxious for the second book. For me, the kissing festival pushed it from rating just OK to rating READ IT! I can totally see how it became a YA Bestseller for a day. Creativity makes or breaks it in the end 😉 .

Favorite Line in Anew:

“Scarlet raised her brow and shook her head. The kissing tradition was bizarre.
Hello, I’m a stranger. I’m going to kiss you now. Smooch-smooch.
Yeah, no thanks.”
4 comments on “Give it a ‘smooch’ for 99 cents!

  • This is a great review and I agree that your voice is direct and funny. Thank you for recommending this book and telling me why I might like it. It’s now going on my TBR – especially for that price!

    • Thank you, Arla! I hope you enjoy it! Although, I think you will! It is a great read and will definitely make you anxious to read the next :). Thank you so much for visiting my blog and commenting. I truly appreciate your kind words.

  • Would LOVE to hear from YOU!!

